top of page

Does your husband have a labor job?

"So, what does your husband do for a living?"

I often get asked this question upon meeting a person.

Really, whatever your husband does you should be very proud of him for working...PERIOD. Office jobs, janitorial jobs, counseling jobs, medical jobs, educational jobs, military jobs, and the list goes on. We ladies should be thankful that our husbands go out there every day to provide for our families.

If you asked my husband what he does for a living right now, he would say, "I manage the landscaping at a town-home complex and I run the family's home inspection business". 4 years ago he would say "I work with special needs adults". A year from now he may say something very different. In fact, he is hoping and praying he will be able to say something very very different! He's been a pastor, he's worked in the schools, and he's worked for different non profits. With the Lord's blessing, my husband will do whatever it takes to provide for us!

I do, however, want to highlight what he does as a landscaper. Of all the ways he has provided for us, I feel that I will always remember him as a landscaper because I truly respect the work he puts out. I personally couldn't do what he does on a daily basis. This job is grueling. It's demanding. It's not exactly back breaking, but it can be back straining. It takes a strong man to do what he does. My husband comes home with a rash all over his torso, arms and neck flared up by who knows what, his eyes burning and bloodshot caused by the constant sweat dripping from his brow, his skin burnt from the hot sun, his back, neck, feet, shoulders, and forearms aching, splinters and calluses in his hands, plantars fasciitis in his feet, and a man stench that only a full day of hard labor could generate. If you think it's just physical labor he has to endure, you're so wrong! The residents... After they see my husband laboring in the hot, August, Hawaii sunshine for hours, with his shirt sticking to his back, they still manage to complain... "Ohhh, the poor trees, don't kill them!" or "Hey when are you gonna take care of my side?" How does my husband turn to wave and smile at them as they complain? It must be a Holy Spirit thing.

I've learned there are a few ways I can support him as he works so hard. You could use these encouragements (or maybe you're doing it already) to bless your husband even if he is not a laborer. The more supported they feel, the more encouraged they are. Happy husbands make happy families. Happy families make healthier communities.

Bless your husband by...

1. Telling him how much you RESPECT his work.

ex. "I know how hard your job is, and I really respect what you do because I wouldn't even know the first thing about ________"

"I really respect how hard you work to provide for us. I can see how draining this job is for you, and I respect that you keep going and you never complain about it."

2. Pack him a protein filled lunch.

I like to pack him a sandwich with a lot of meat and cheese. When we have it, I like to put some avocado in there too. For breakfast I boil eggs so he has it ready to go in the morning. I may cook up some chicken sausage or make him a protein packed smoothie to go with it.

3. Surprise him with a treat at work.

I went to the natural food store and bought him his favorite icy organic peanut butter shake. He squinted as he saw me pull up in our family van like he was seeing a mirage. To his delight, it was no mirage, but his family coming to surprise him with his favorite cold treat. It was a perfect way to bring cheer to his hot and busy day.

4. Have a clean, organized home for him to arrive to.

I can't say that with 5 children this is always possible. I try to at least have dinner ready and the walkway cleared so he's not literally walking into a big mess.

5. Compliment him.

Tell him how his work makes his muscles bigger. You gotta admit that laboring in the sun for 8 hours a day will show some nice results in your husband's physique. Tell him! This will boost his confidence and remind him that you are still very attracted to him. Don't just tell him... show him! Be creative. : )

6. Massage him.

Whenever you have a few minutes to spare in the day, massage your husband's feet, neck, back, arms...wherever it hurts. He will appreciate this kind gesture and this could really bless him since the cost of a professional massage is $60 or more. Plus, what man will ask his friend, brother, or coworker for a massage? He knows that the only person who will do this for free is his wife.

7. Remind the children to thank him.

Say "Daddy's on his way home! Remember to be thankful that he is working hard so we can live in this house and put food on the table!" This is something we have to remind children of constantly. I remember really appreciating my dad's hard work. He was a soft spoken man but so hard working. I saw how tired he always was and how hard he worked, but it felt awkward to say thank you. To my shame, I didn't say thank you nearly enough. I want to change that awkward feeling into a normal feeling in our home. It should be normal to be thankful and I want my children to know it's a GOOD thing to say "thank you" to their father for working so hard.

8. Pray for him.

I saved the best for last. Pray for:

- His safety: Labor jobs can be scary sometimes. My husband works with chainsaws, hedgers, and machetes. One miscalculation or distraction could leave him very badly injured. One day he came home with a cut right below his eye. A branch, larger than his arm, fell on his face just missing his eye. It was an inch away from possibly impairing his vision. You have husbands in the military, in the fire or police department, maybe he is a window cleaner hanging many stories high above the ground, or maybe he is in the medical field being constantly exposed to viruses and bodily fluids. Whatever it is your husband does, there are possibilities of harm or injury and he absolutely needs protection from the Most High God and His angels. Pray for his safety and protection.

- Temptation to be far from him. We all know that men are visually stimulated. But do we know HOW visually stimulated they are? I don't think many women can relate to this. Women were never meant to be exposed in the way they expose themselves in this era with plunging necklines and skin tight jean shorts. Men were never meant to go through this constant struggle. But because of the age we are in, and the fashion trends that help women and girls "fit in", this is a struggle that men have to deal with. They deal with it just driving to work or going to the store. Pray for women to dress modestly around him and pray that when they are not being modest, your husband will have the self control to quickly look away. Pray that his thoughts will be focused on the Lord, you, and your family.

I hope this helps you think of ways to bless your husband if he is hard at work and needs encouragement.

And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men; Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ. But he that doeth wrong shall receive for the wrong which he hath done: and there is no respect of persons. -Col 3:23-24


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page